• English
  • Français

African Mathematical Schools

CIMPA is supporting African Mathematical Schools (EMA) of the African Mathematical Union (AMU). The duration of an EMA is beetween 2 and 4 weeks. Their main objectives are:

  • To provide Master students or early PhD students with the mathematical foundations and essential tools of selected active areas of mathematics.
  • To contribute to the development of mathematics in all regions of the African continent by promoting the exchange of knowledge between young African mathematicians and the international mathematical community.
  • To break the isolation of African mathematicians by providing a platform for meeting fellow mathematicians from around the world, for exchanging knowledge and for sharing experience.

A call for application is published every year in early summer for the organisation of EMA the following year. Proposals are evaluated by an UMA-CIMPA common scientific committee.

List of EMA in 2018:

Mathematical Modeling for Epidemiology, Ecology and Conservation

Venue: Université d'Abomey-Calavi, Benin

Dates: 22-28 January, 2018

More information: Flyer.pdf, Flyer.doc

Coordinator: Romain Glele Kakai (glele.romain@gmail.com)

 

List of EMA in 2017:

Géométrie Différentielle, Structures Géométriques et Théorie Géométriques de Groupes

Venue: Université Dr Tahar Moulay de Saida, Algeria

Dates: 2-13 April, 2017

Website: https://www.univ-saida.dz/ema2017/pres.php

Coordinator: Seddik Ouakkas (seddik.ouakkas@gmail.com)

 

EAUMP-ICTP Summer School on Modern functional Analysis

Venue: CORAT Africa in Karen (Nairobi), Kenya

Dates: 19 June-7 July 2017

Website: http://indico.ictp.it/event/7977/

Coordinator: Jared Ongaro (ongaro@uonbi.ac.ke)

 

Mathématiques pour la cryptographie Post-Quantique & Mathématiques pour le Traitement du Signal

Venue: École Polytechnique de Thiès, Senegal

Dates: 10-23 May 2017

Website : http://ema2017.lacgaa.com

Coordinator: Abdoul Aziz Ciss (aaciss@ept.sn)

 

L'Analyse et la Géométrie Appliquées

Venue: Université du Burundi, Burundi

Dates: 14-25 August 2017

Coordinator: Jean-Bosco Kayoya (jkayoya@yahoo.fr)

 

Sur la Géométrie Différentielle

Venue: Université Marien Ngouabi de Brazzaville, Congo

Dates: October 9-21, 2017

Coordinator: Basile Guy Richard Bossoto (bossotob@yahoo.fr)